Southeast United Methodist bishops get assignments 

July 17, 2004      

By Kathy Gilbert*

LAKE JUNALUSKA, N.C. (UMNS) –The six United Methodist bishops elected during the Southeastern Jurisdiction’s 2004 conference and seven continuing bishops now know where they will serve for the next four years.

Their assignments were announced July 17 and will take effect Sept. 1.

The assignment of Bishop G. Lindsey Davis to the North Georgia Conference was extended for a third term.  Davis is undergoing medical treatment for cancer. Four bishops—Larry M. Goodpaster, Timothy Whitaker, James R. King Jr. and Michael Watson-- will continue in their current assignments for a second term.

Six pastors just elected as bishops were given their first assignments.

The assignments are:

Bishop G. Lindsey Davis--North Georgia Area, which includes North Georgia Conference.

Bishop Larry M. Goodpaster--Alabama-West Florida Area, which includes the Alabama and West Florida conferences.

Bishop Alfred Gwinn--Raleigh Area, which includes the North Carolina Conference.

Bishop Charlene Kammerer--Richmond Area, which includes the Virginia Conference.

Bishop James R. King Jr.—Louisville Area, which includes Kentucky and Red Bird Missionary conferences.

Bishop J. Lawrence McCleskey--Charlotte Area, which includes the Western North Carolina Conference.

Bishop James Swanson--Holston Area, which includes the Holston Conference.

Bishop Mary Virginia Taylor--Columbia Area, which includes the South Carolina Conference.

Bishop Hope Morgan Ward--Mississippi Area, which includes the Mississippi Conference.

Bishop B. Michael Watson-- South Georgia Area, which includes the South Georgia Conference.

Bishop William H. Willimon--Birmingham Area, which includes the North Alabama Conference.

Bishop Richard J. Wills Jr.--Nashville Area, which includes the Memphis and Tennessee conferences.

Bishop Timothy Whitaker--Florida Area, which includes the Florida Conference.

The six retiring bishops are Bishop Kenneth L. Carder, Bishop Ray W. Chamberlain Jr., Bishop Marion M. Edwards, Bishop Robert E. Fannin, Bishop William Morris and Bishop Joe E. Pennel Jr.

The denomination’s Southeastern Jurisdiction includes the states of Alabama, Florida, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, Georgia, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia.

*Gilbert is a United Methodist News Service news writer.

News media contact: Kathy Gilbert ·(615) 742-5479·Nashville, Tenn.· E-mail:


Contact Us

This will not reach a local church, district or conference office. InfoServ* staff will answer your question, or direct it to someone who can provide information and/or resources.


*InfoServ ( about ) is a ministry of United Methodist Communications located in Nashville, Tennessee, USA. 1-800-251-8140

Not receiving a reply?
Your Spam Blocker might not recognize our email address. Add to your list of approved senders.