News Archives

Ten women receive seminary scholarships

LINK: Click to open full size version of image
The Rev. HiRho Park
July 10, 2006

By Vicki Brown*

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (UMNS) — Ten seminarians are recipients of an annual scholarship given to women over 35 who are preparing for ordained ministry in the United Methodist Church as a second career.

Each woman was awarded the $5,000 Georgia Harkness Scholarships for the 2006-07 academic year. Recipients of the merit scholarship must be enrolled as full-time students in a master of divinity degree program at a University Senate-approved theological school and be certified candidates for ordination. The senate is a United Methodist organization that certifies schools for affiliation with the church.

The scholarships represent the spirit of social justice, the intellect and the spirituality of the teacher and theologian for whom the award is named, said the Rev. HiRho Park, the director of Continuing Formation for Ministry at the United Methodist Board of Higher Education and Ministry.

Recipients must demonstrate leadership traits that Harkness embodied: scholarship, spiritual leadership and social justice leadership.

The scholarship recipients, their schools, and annual conferences are:

  • Gladys Frances Adams, Hood Theological Seminary in Salisbury, N.C.; Western North Carolina Annual Conference.
  • Adrea Redard Conder, Hood Theological Seminary in Salisbury, N.C.; Western North Carolina Annual Conference.
  • Nancy Ellen Eastridge, Candler School of Theology, Emory University in Atlanta; Holston Annual Conference.
  • Pamela Suzette Everhart, Iliff School of Theology in Denver; Rocky Mountain Annual Conference.
  • Anne Kiome Gatobu, Iliff School of Theology in Denver; Nebraska Annual Conference.
  • Ann Catherine Kemper, Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School in Rochester, N.Y.; Western New York Annual Conference.
  • Nancy Rains Mayeux, Asbury Theological Seminary in Orlando, Fla.; Florida Annual Conference.
  • Cynthia Michelle Moore, Wesley Theological Seminary in Washington; Baltimore-Washington Annual Conference.
  • Naomi Rogers, Memphis (Tenn.) Theological Seminary; Arkansas Annual Conference.
  • Sally Lee Vonner, Perkins School of Theology, Southern Methodist University in Dallas; North Texas Annual Conference.

“Striving for wholeness and truth in her long career as a theologian and as a disciple, Georgia Harkness dedicated her life to dismantling racial and gender discrimination in the church and in the society,” Park said. “Her emphasis on spirituality and social responsibility goes to the heart of a living faith that promotes thoughtful, practical discipleship.”

Since 1983, the awards have been given in memory of the life and service of Harkness, who died in 1974. Harkness was instrumental in the 1956 General Conference decision giving women full clergy membership in the Methodist Church.

*Brown is an associate editor and writer in the Office of Interpretation, United Methodist Board of Higher Education and Ministry.

News media contact: Linda Green, (615) 742-5470 or

Related Articles
Ten women receive seminary scholarships
Georgia Harkness: Champion of Women’s Clergy Rights (PDF)
Georgia Harkness scholarships
United Methodist Loans and Scholarships
United Methodist Board of Higher Education and Ministry
Candler School of Theology
Wesley Theological Seminary
Perkins School of Theology